By-elections: Results of 7 seats in 6 states, BJP won four seats, RJD, Shiv Sena and TRS one seat each

New Delhi: The results of by-elections for 7 assembly seats of 6 states have been announced. The battle for prestige was fought in Bihar and Telangana, while family legacy was at stake in Haryana.
BJP has won Gola Gokarnath in Uttar Pradesh, Adampur in Haryana and Gopalganj in Bihar. BJP has also won Odisha’s Dhamnagar seat. Rashtriya Janata Dal led by Tejashwi Yadav has registered victory in Mokama in Bihar. K Chandrasekhar Rao’s party Telangana Rashtriya Samithi has won in Mangode. Shiv Sena led by Uddhav Thackeray has won the Andheri East seat in Mumbai.
This is the first election in Bihar after Nitish Kumar revived the alliance with Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD. RJD candidate Neelam Devi, wife of Anant Singh, who was disqualified for illegal possession of guns, has won from Mokama. In Gopalganj, Kasam Devi defeated RJD’s Mohan Gupta by 2183 votes in the last round. In Gopalganj, BJP was leading by 70053 votes.
In Haryana, Adampur, the family seat of former chief minister Bhajan Lal, will decide whether his granddaughter Bhavya Bishnoi can carry on the 68-year-old legacy after she defected from the Congress to the BJP. Bhavya’s father Kuldeep Bishnoi had resigned as Adampur MLA, leading to the by-election here.
This time Shiv Sena candidate Retuja Latte has won Andheri East by-election. While Nota got the second highest number of votes, there was no major party candidate against Rutoja Latte. BJP withdrew its candidate. This was the first election battle in Maharashtra after Shiv Sena split into two factions.
The ruling TRS has won Mangode in Telangana by a huge margin of over 10,000 votes against rival BJP.
The ruling regional party BJD was also facing the BJP in Odisha’s Dhamnagar. The BJP had won it last time but a by-election was held due to the death of MLA Vishnu Charan Sethi. BJP fielded Sethi’s son here. He has won this election.
This was the first election in Bihar after Nitish Kumar left the BJP alliance. The Mokama seat was previously held by the NDA, while the Gopalganj seat was held by the RJD. This is the first time BJP is contesting from Mokama seat as earlier it had given this seat to its allies.
In its stronghold of UP, the BJP has retained the Gola Gokarnath seat. The seat fell vacant on September 6 after the death of BJP MLA Arvind Giri.
More than 93 percent of the total 241,805 voters exercised their right to vote during the Mangade Assembly by-election in Telangana on Thursday. According to information released by the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer late on Thursday, a total of 93.13 percent voting was recorded in addition to 686 postal ballots.
Regional parties in the by-elections are looking to form a united front for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls, which are just one-and-a-half years away. Based on the results of the by-elections, he will decide the strategy against the BJP.


Related Articles

Back to top button